Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR List

(geez, it’s been a while…will really try to update this blog more.)

March 18: Top Ten Books On My Spring 2014 TBR List

I’m not very good at sticking to these lists. Very often I really mean to, but the way I choose what to read next, it’s really just…whatever I feel like. That’s the best way I can describe it. I have many, many unread books on my shelves, and so once I finish a book often I’ll just walk around my room for a while, looking at various books, and then go: “that one!” (for example I just started reading the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. Been meaning to for a while, as I’m trying to make my way through every story chronologically, but I didn’t think I would right now until I saw it on the shelf and just instantly decided to, on a whim)

That being said, there are definitely some books that I want to read “very, very soon” and that’s what this list mostly comprises of. A couple of these have been on this “to read very soon” list for a couple times now, but…oh well. Maybe this’ll be the time I finally do get to them. =P

  1. Batman: Hush, by Jeph Loeb. I have been so excited to read this graphic novel (GN) for a long time. Not only will it be my first Batman GN (who is my favorite superhero, either followed closely by or tied with Captain America), but I’ve heard so many amazing things about it, and it was recommended to me by someone who’s recommendations are always spot on. So it may seem odd that I haven’t gotten to it yet, since I’ve had it for over a month or two now, but the reason is quite simple: I am almost positive I’ll love it, and I’m really excited for it (not often I can remain excited for a book for several months without reading it); as such, I’ve been saving it for a time when I get in a sort of reading slump. Because I’ll still want to read this, even when I may not want to read anything else. But I may just end up reading it soon anyway, because that slump hasn’t happened yet, oddly enough. And dangit I just want to read a Batman comic. Because he’s Batman.
  2. Sandman Vol. 1, by Neil Gaiman. Basically the same story as Hush, really–and recommended to me by the same person, too. Super excited to read this, and definitely will sooner than later.
  3. Murder on the Links, by Agatha Christie. So Agatha Christie is really the author that got me into reading. Her Poirot novels as well as Eoin Colfer’s Artemis Fowl. That being said, I’ve only read a small-ish handful of her works, and so I’ve been slowly trying to complete my collection and read all of her Poirot books chronologically. A few weeks ago I read The Mysterious Affair at Styles, the first Poirot, and so next is this.
  4. Les Miserables, by Victor Hugo. I’m really, really hoping to finally get to this this Spring. Les Mis is without a doubt my favorite musical and one of my all-time favorite stories. All that said, I still haven’t read the original novel yet (I know, for shame).
  5. The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. This is another series I’m planning to make my way through chronologically. Last Spring I read both A Study in Scarlet and The Sign of Four; currently I’m reading The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, though I’m nearly done. Memoirs is next, and with how much I absolutely love Holmes and Doyle, I have a feeling I’ll be wanting to read that set of short stories soon, too.
  6. 11 Doctors, 11 Stories, by Various (including Eoin Colfer, Patrick Ness, and Neil Gaiman). This I won’t be reading until I’ve watched at least one episode/mini story-line from each of the classic Doctors, as I’ve only watched Doctor Who from the 9th Doctor on. But I plan to do that soon, since there’s a good amount of classic Who on Netflix.
  7. Another Palahniuk book. Read my first book by him, Survivor, at the beginning of January. He really is an enjoyable writer, and as I have three of his other novels (ChokeLullabyTell-All) I hope to read another sooner than later. Also A Clockwork Orange, by Anthony Burgess.
  8. Various Crime Novels. The Cuckoo’s Calling, by J.K. Rowling; The Silence of the Lambs, by Thomas Harris; The Millennium Trilogy, by Stieg Larsson; etc.
  9. Various Fantasy Novels. Including: Any Novel by Ursula K. LeGuin (definitely hope to read her Earthsea series soon, but I need to acquire all of them first); Wild Cards, by George R.R. Martin & Others; The Eye of the World, by Robert Jordan; The Princess Bride, by William Goldman (one of my all-time favorite films); Ranger’s Apprentice, by John Flanagan; The Strain, by Chuck Hogan/Guillermo Del Toro; Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, by Susanna Clarke; and Fortunately, the Milk, by Neil Gaiman (this one is also similar to Hush and Sandman, in that I’ve been waiting for a slump as I’m super excited for it: it’s Gaiman, it’s a kid’s book, and just overall sounds super fun). And more, I’m sure. I’m not planning to read all of these this Spring, but I can’t really choose one that I definitively want to read over the others, either.
  10. Anything Else on my To-Read List. Since 8 and 9 were really 8 through 17, I figured this was a good #10 to use. I have so many things on my to-read list, and I have no doubt that I’ll probably only get to half of the ones listed here, if not less, and will instead decide to read something else. But it’s good to get these written down somewhere, and I hope to at least read this many novels, even if not these specific ones. I also really hope to read more classics. Because I have not read nearly enough, unfortunately, and almost exclusively for school, rather than my own pleasure.
Leave a Reply

